Cormac McCarthy

All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy #1)


This is volume one of the “Border” trilogy. John Grady Cole is the last bewildered survivor of long generations of Texas ranchers. Finding himself cut off from the only life he has ever wanted, he sets out for Mexico with his friend Lacey Rawlins. Befriending a third boy on the way, they find a country beyond their imagination: barren and beautiful, rugged yet cruelly civilized; a place where dreams are paid for in blood. “All The Pretty Horses” is an acknowledged masterpiece and a grand love story: a novel about childhood passing, along with innocence and a vanished American age. Steeped in the wisdom that comes only from loss, it is a magnificent parable of responsibility, revenge, and survival. ‘A darkly shining work …executed with consummate skill and much subtlety the effect is magnificent’ – John Banville, “Observer”. ‘A uniquely brilliant book …told in language as subtly beautiful as its desert setting. One of the most important pieces of American writing of our time’ – Stephen Amidon, “Sunday Times”.

5.00 Incl. VAT

Out of stock

Additional information




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy #1)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *